Getting to Know Us: Art, Reference Librarian

1. In Woody Allen’s short story The Kugelmass Episode, the protagonist discovers a magic cabinet that will allow him to visit his favorite books.  Using this cabinet, which books would you absolutely visit?  which would you avoid?

I’d like to visit the people and stories from The Holy Bible.  Lots of interesting characters, religious figures, poets, philosophers, and prophets I’d like to meet.  Although they are great books, I’d avoid Brave New World and 1984.

2. If you could be a famous author for a day, who would you choose?  Why?

Charles Dickens.  He’s my favorite English author.

3. What is your favorite question to answer at the library?  Least favorite question?

Favorite!  Will you help me find…?  Whether it’s a book recommendation, book they can’t locate on the shelf, or a book or item we don’t have, I enjoy the hunt and finding something the person needs or wants to read.  Least favorite!  Where are you from?

4. What do you love about working at the library?

I enjoy those I work with and those I work for (the public).  I enjoy bringing people and info. together.  I find it very rewarding.

5. What book helped you learn to love reading?

No particular book.  I started reading lots of history and philosophy books when I was in my mid-teens.  They opened up a whole new world of ideas to me.

6. If you had to live in a section of the library, which section would you choose?

Non-fiction.  I love learning about people and ideas.

7. In order to save the world from the impending apocalypse, all but three novels must be sacrificed to the zombies; which three novels do you save?

Lord of the RingsRobinson Crusoe, and Dracula.

8. What is your favorite quote about books and/or reading?

To read without reflecting is like eating without digesting  ~ Edmund Burke

9. Favorite thing you’ve read this year?

Salem’s Lot by Stephen King

10. If you were a book, which genre would you be categorized in and why?

Curiosities and Wonders.  Because I’m a curious and wondering person!

One response to “Getting to Know Us: Art, Reference Librarian

  1. Pingback: Art’s Top Ten | Just Browsing·

Leave a Reply

