Jenny’s Top Ten

I find it challenging to write a Top Ten List of my favorite books, movies, tv shows, etc. for two reasons. One, only ten (yes, I know this list actually has 11 items on it)? And two, it feels so definitive when the reality is that this list changes on a regular basis. With that in mind, here is my list of current favorites:

content.chilifreshAll the Little Live Things by Wallace Stegner: I love the way that Wallace Stegner writes about relationships and the joys and sorrows that are present because of those relationships.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee: Being a classic, most of you probably already know about this book, but I love it because it’s one of those great books that you can read multiple times and still be fascinated with it.

Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech: I still remember how heartbroken I felt when I read this at the age of twelve. I have read it several times since then and it continues to be on my list of favorite books.

Peace Like a River by Leif Enger: I loved the themes of family, faith and hope that are present throughout this story of a family’s trek to rescue their fugitive brother.

content.chilifresh-1Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach: This book is delightfully entertaining while also being interesting and informative. This is a great read if you have even a slight interest in cadavers.

Refuge by Terry Tempest Williams: A mix of two tragic narratives – the death of Terry Tempest Williams’ mother and the destruction of the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge – in what ends up being a beautiful tribute to family and place.

Amelie: There are parts of this movie that I really don’t love, but as a whole, this is one of my favorites because it makes me want to be a better person.

Fantastic Mr. Fox: Creatively and intelligently made, this is a family favorite, my brothers and I quote this to each other regularly and have adopted the Fantastic Mr. Fox whistle into our daily lives.

The West Wing: What I learned while watching this show: you can’t just watch one episode. I was so sad when I came to the end of this show, in fact, there’s a good chance I will rewatch many of the episodes. The first four seasons were my favorite and were really well written.

MV5BMTYwNjIyMTYwOV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMTA2MDU1MQ@@._V1_SX640_SY720_Friday Night Lights: I am not a huge football fan, but I loved this show because, surprise, it isn’t really about football. This show is really about relationships between families and friends, and the communities they share.

Patty Griffin: Patty Griffin is not only a talented musician, but she’s an incredible writer. Her songs are beautifully written and performed and I never get tired of listening to them.

Leave a Reply

