Artist Interview with Robyn Gillespie

Montreal, a show by Robyn Gillespie is on display in the children’s wing of the library until the end of March.

Frosted Grid 3by4 2Tell us about the pieces you’re showing at the library.
This series of photographs is about the beauty I perceive within my reach. Recently I spent a year exploring and experiencing a new place (Montreal) with my little family– We lived in a small apartment through the freezing Canadian winter, and I often found myself operating within a limited set of conditions. This led me to notice the beauty of the frosted storm doors in our old quirky apartment. For me, this series represents my own experience with sanity, creativity, and the excitement in finding new patterns around me. I used Instagram as a way to share these photos with the name #frostedstormdoor. The times we were able to get out and explore, I was able to discover and capture the more iconic landmarks (unknown to me beforehand) that helped me create an overall picture of this beautiful diverse Canadian city.

_DSC2796-EditWhat are you working on right now? ​
I am a full time stay at home mom, so I spend most of my time waking up kids (or getting woken up by them), feeding them breakfast, shuffling them back and forth to school, changing diapers, making and packing lunches, helping with homework, picking up toys, wrestling the wild ones, and washing endless amounts of laundry. In my spare time I take pictures of wonderful families, couples, babies, product shots for Little Sapling Toys (@littlesaplingtoys), and spectacular sunsets right from my top step. My favorite thing to do is to walk to the hillside near my home and photograph the mountains and beautiful fields of the river bottoms in Spanish Fork.

Which artists are you inspired by?
There are so many wonderful photographers and artists out there right now. Some of my favorites are photographers that I follow on Instagram, I can travel vicariously through their photos. Chris Burkard (@chrisburkard), The Taipale Brothers, Samuel and Daniel (@elijackson @dansmoe), Nathan Asker (@nasker) Alex Strohl (@alexstrohl) local photographers Matt Clayton (@mattclayton21), Jessica Peterson (@jessicaphoto) and my good friend Angela McAllister. I also find new and wonderful artists and inspirational projects on a blog called This is Colossal. Every time I see a new post I want to go out and make something amazing.

What advice do you have for young artists?
Make something everyday. Even if it doesn’t turn out how you want, you will probably learn something from it.

Anything else you’d like to add?
I’m excited for this opportunity to share some photos of this quirky/wonderful city that we got to know and fall in love with over that adventurous year.

Robyn will be at the library on March 5th at 7pm in the Storytelling Wing to talk about her work and answer audience questions.

Click here to see more of Robyn’s work or follow her on Instagram: @rgill.photo

Leave a Reply

