What Ruth is Reading/Watching

content.chilifresh-1The Martian by Andy Weir: I got so excited to finally pick up this book by Andy Weir, and it is living up to my expectations to the fullest right now. Don’t ask me how he combines lots of technical scientific language and space survival knowledge with nail-biting action, expert levels of sarcasm and wit, and relatable, developed characters. But he does.

content.chilifreshFeynman by Jim Ottaviani: This graphic novel re-telling of the life of Richard Feynman was just remarkable. Personal, touching, engrossing, smart but still “dumbed down” enough for a scientific ignoramus like me to get by, and of course, funny to the nth degree. I would read so many more biographies if they were told in graphic novel format.

wolf-children-posterWolf Children: This movie about a girl who falls in love with a wolf and ends up raising two children who are half-wolves turned out to be one of my favorite movies I’ve seen all year. It felt like a Miyazaki movie, but told from the perspective of the parents instead of the kids. The journey of the mother is just so relatable and touching. I’m not really a fan of anime or of paranormal romance, but this won me over 100%—beautiful screenplay, cinematography, and music.

Reign: Yikes, I’m a little embarrassed to admit how addicting I am finding this TV show about the turbulent life and loves of Mary, Queen of Scots. Maybe it’s the fact that it’s completely riddled with historical inaccuracies, ridiculously good-looking people, scathing insults delivered in old-timey English speech, and assassination plots. That, and Megan Follows, aka Anne of Green Gables, who appears to have landed her dream role as an actress. Way to go, Anne!!!

Leave a Reply

