Ground Beef and Rice from 100 Meals for $5 or Less

When I saw this book on the shelf, I knew I had to check it out. We’re poor college students, so if we can feed ourselves for $5 a night? That’s perfect. I had flagged a few different recipes that looked good, so when we invited my cousin and her husband over for a small Sunday dinner, I couldn’t wait to try one of them. In hindsight, it’s probably not the best idea to try a new recipe on guests, but you live and you learn, right?

I was really apprehensive once I started mixing all of the ingredients together and even after pulling the casserole out of the oven I was still unsure about it. It just didn’t look very appetizing. I was a little embarrassed as my cousin and her husband started spooning the casserole onto their plates since they took really small portions. But once we started eating, I found that despite its appearance, it actually tasted pretty good! My cousin and her husband even ended up going back for seconds. Overall, I would make this dish again, but probably not for guests. The only thing I would do different is I might add more beef to the recipe. We served the casserole with a side of steamed and salted broccoli.

IMG_0069

Ground Beef and Rice from 100 Meals for $5 or Less by Jennifer Maughan

1/2 lb ground beef
1/4 cup chopped onion
1 (10 3/4 oz) can condensed chicken noodle soup
1 (10 3/4 oz) can condensed cream of mushroom soup
10 3/4 oz water (simply fill the empty soup can)
1/2 cup uncooked rice

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Brown meat and onion in a skillet until meat is no longer pink; drain. Add soups, water and rice to skillet and mix well. Pour into greased 9×9-inch baking dish and bake 1 hour, covered.

Serves 4

Serve with sauteed zucchini and squash

Leave a Reply

