Books That Remind Me of My Best Friend

I would say that the number one person in my life who instilled in me a love for reading would be my BFF Aimee. Before I met her reading was something I was fairly neutral on. Aimee and I became fast friends during fourth grade (many moons ago) and I spent immeasurable hours goofing off at her house. With the weekly trips to the library she took with her mom and the fact that she also considered reading in her room to be an acceptable way to spend an afternoon with a friend I had to learn to become passionate about reading or (heaven forbid) ship out and find a new person to spend all of my time with.

I am eternally grateful to Aimee for jumpstarting my love affair with reading and in her honor here is a short list of some great reads featuring some indomitable female friends:

16068905Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: Cath is having a hard time coping with her first year of college life and it doesn’t help that her twin sister and best friend Wren doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath’s number one coping method is writing fanfic about a certain wizarding book series that she’s obsessed with. College life is full of tough times, especially when you feel like you have to face it all on your own. Luckily for me I actually went off to school with my very own BFF and she and I roomed together for our first two years away from home. This book perfectly encapsulates that awkward and uncomfortable period that is the first year of college.

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine: Ella is cursed to always be obedient and it sure makes life difficult for her. This book is a classic and one that I still go back and re-read regularly. I highlight it on this list due to the friendship Ella gains with Areida while she is away at boarding school. Her friendship with Areida is so great that when her wicked stepsister commands Ella not to be friends with Areida any more Ella opts to run away rather than be forced to ruin her relationship with her best friend.

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell: Lincoln is the guy whose job it is to monitor your emails at work. Things get awkward when he starts reading the emails between two close friends and gets thoroughly addicted to their drama. The premise is farfetched in a way that reminds me of mid 90’s chick flicks. If you can suspend your disbelief for a little while it’s a highly entertaining read. And I have been 100% guilty of misusing company time by texting a co-worker for the entirety of the work day at a previous job so the relationship between these office besties is very realistic to me.

content.chilifreshAustenland by Shannon Hale: Jane Hayes has an obsessive love for Mr. Darcy. This obsession has indirectly sabotaged every relationship she’s ever been in. When her wealthy aunt passes away she leaves Jane with a trip to a mysterious English estate dedicated to giving Austen-crazed women an “authentic” Regency era experience. Comedic drama ensues. I’m including this book on my list not only because obsessing over Colin Firth in the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice seems to be a thing best friends do together but also because Miss Hayes has a sassy best friend who will tell her she’s being a crazy person, and we all need at least one of those in our life.

Ramona’s World by Beverly Cleary: Like any child who grew up in the 90’s I was raised on the adventures of Ramona Quimby. I include this particular Ramona book on the list because this is when Ramona enters fourth grade and meets her best friend. It’s sentimental to me because fourth grade is when I met my best friend (and we’re still besties to this day) and I actually read this book while lying on the floor of her bedroom during sixth grade.

If you can think of any other books featuring best female friends let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

