Coffee Cake Muffins

So, I love muffins. Muffins are one of those all-time comfort foods. They are portable, perfect for snacks, breakfasts, and sides, and kids love them. I also love coffee cake. Not the ones that are actually made with coffee, but the really simple cakes that have a crumb on top. When I saw the recipe for Coffee Cake muffins, I decided I had to try them out. I mean, who can resist something small with just the right amount of sweetness? And wouldn’t it be great if I could freeze those little indulgences for a moment of weakness?

IMG_0850

Coffee Cake Muffins from Muffins: Sweet and Savory Comfort Food by Cyndi Duncan and George Patrick

2 1/4 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter or margarine
1 egg
1 cup buttermilk
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans
1/2 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Spray muffin cups with nonstick cooking spray.

In large bowl, combine flour and sugar. Melt butter and pour over flour mixture, mixing until crumbly. Set aside 1 cup of mixture for topping.

Add the rest of the ingredients to the remainder of flour mixture, stirring just until moistened. (Batter will be thin and lumpy.)

Fill muffin cups 3/4 full. Sprinkle reserved mixture over top of each muffin. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Makes 12 muffins.

I did make a few alterations to the recipe. I am not a fan of raisins so I omitted the raisins and used pecans for the nuts. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the topping. I couldn’t resist! Coffee cake and cinnamon go hand in hand for me. And can I just say the aroma while they are baking is delightful! I could hardly wait for them to come out of the oven to try one. However, with muffins, as suggested by the author in the book, one has to wait 5 minutes before removing them from the pan. Such torture! In the end, the wait was worth it. The muffins were delicately sweet and perfect to go along with a cup of hot cocoa (or coffee, if you prefer). Or to enjoy for breakfast. Or, my personal favorite reason, just because. In fact, I just ate three. Just because.

Written by Tiffany, a new blog volunteer.

Leave a Reply

