Pumpkin Ice Cream Pie

I don’t know about you, but I love pumpkin at this time of year. In fact, usually once November begins, I am checking at Costco every week for their pumpkin cheesecake. I can’t resist creamy and pumpkin together! This pie promises to “capture all the flavors of pumpkin pie a la mode.” I have to agree. This pie is great to make ahead and tastes just like a pumpkin pie shake that you would get at Arctic Circle or JCW’s!

DSC_0188

Pumpkin Ice Cream Pie from America’s Best Lost Recipes by America’s Test Kitchen

Crust
8 whole graham crackers
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled

Filling
1 cup canned pumpkin (see note)
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1 quart vanilla ice cream, softened

For the Crust: Adjust an oven rack to the lower-middle position and heat the oven to 325 degrees. Pulse the graham crackers and granulated sugar in a food processor until finely ground. Add the melted butter, pulsing until the crumbs are evenly moistened and resemble damp sand. Press the crumbs evenly into the bottom and sides of a 9-inch pie plate. Bake until fragrant and browned around the edges, 15 to 18 minutes. Transfer the pie plate to a wire rack and let cool completely, at least 20 minutes.

For the Filling: Wipe out the food processor bowl. Process the pumpkin, brown sugar, salt, and spices until smooth, about 1 minute. Transfer to a large bowl and stir in the ice cream. Spoon into the prepared crust and freeze until firm, at least 2 hours. The pie can be frozen for up to 1 month. Serve.

Note: Some brands of canned pumpkin have stringiness in them, if so, process it in the food processor to make sure the final result isn’t stringy. If you don’t have a food processor, a blender would work just fine.

I have to confess that I cheated on this recipe. I bought a pre-made graham cracker crust and just made the filling. And I found that it is not possible to buy just a quart of vanilla ice cream. I kept finding 1 1/2 quart containers. So I found the equivalent to 1 quart is 4 cups and I measured out 4 cups of ice cream in its hard state and then softened just that portion. It made more filling than fit in my purchased graham cracker crust, but that just meant I got to sample the filling before it was frozen! This pie was incredibly easy to make and, since I cheated on the graham cracker crust, I had it ready to freeze in about 15 minutes. It would make an excellent addition to your holiday party!

Leave a Reply

