Top 10 Underrated Disney Animated Sequels

It is no secret that I have a fairly hard core obsession with all things animated. I have been known to spend my free time not just watching an animated movie, but also analyzing them for their artistic qualities, technical advancements, themes, symbols, subconscious political statements, etc. With that said, here is a list of some of my favorite and slightly underrated Disney animated sequels.

An_Extremely_Goofy_MovieAn Extremely Goofy Movie: So it’s possible that I’ve never actually seen this movie all the way through. It’s not because I don’t want to, it’s really a timing issue. However, I love A Goofy Movie so much that I’m willing to give this movie the benefit of the doubt and add it to this list. How can you go wrong with Goofy anyways?

Lion King 1 ½: Have you ever wondered what the plot of the Lion King was like from the point of view of Timon and Pumbaa? No? Well, even if you haven’t this movie will show it to you in a highly entertaining, hilarious fashion.

The Little Mermaid: Ariel’s Beginning: A friend of mine brought this to my house to watch while I was recovering from having my wisdom teeth removed. Maybe it was the drugs or the smoothie I was drinking, but this movie was a blast to watch. Although it would technically be considered a prequel rather than a sequel it still counts as being underrated.

The Rescuers Down Under: I constantly forget that this movie is a sequel. If you watch both The Rescuers and The Rescuers Down Under I would say that the only thing they really have in common is that they feature animals that save kidnapped children in them. I could even argue that this is one of those rare moments where the sequel is actually better than the original. The pacing is better, the character development is more well rounded, there’s a gigantic borderline mythological eagle in it that I still wish was real to this day. I mean, how fun would it be to go for a ride on the back of a huge golden eagle in the Australian Outback?

urlAladdin and the King of Thieves: I am not ashamed of my obsession with Disney’s Aladdin franchise. As a child I owned and regularly watched all of the Aladdin movies (King of Thieves is the third of these movies) and I was also a big fan of the animated series that lasted 2 seasons. Of the Aladdin posterity King of Thieves is easily the best. It has a lot of great character development and father son bonding moments. Not to mention some corny jokes and general silliness.

The Tigger Movie: The wonderful thing about Tigger is that he’s the only one right? But being the only one of something can be a bit lonely. So Tigger goes out in search of his family with a little help from his friends. It’s a rather sentimental and tender movie about the importance of family.

Winnie the Pooh: If there is one movie that is shockingly prolific in its production of sequels and spinoffs it’s Disney’s 1977 classic the Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh. This particular sequel was theatrically released in 2011 and is the last traditionally animated feature that Disney has come out with to date. It is much like the classic Winnie the Pooh but in my opinion is a little bit more engaging than the original. It’s terribly witty and clever and certainly makes for a great movie to watch as a family.

Fantasia 2000: I don’t know if you can count this as a sequel as it’s more of a continuation of Walt Disney’s original intention for Fantasia. Mr. Disney actually envisioned his musical experiment to be something of a rotating feature where every few years a new animated short was added and some were taken away or re-added so that every time you went to go see Fantasia it would be a different experience. Fantasia 2000 attempts to do this idea justice. Although it will never live up to the original Fantasia, this rendition still does pretty well on it’s own.

Mulan II: Are you looking for a movie filled with goofy misunderstandings and meddling spiritual guardians? What about dramatic marriages, near death experiences, and a bunch of cartoony musical numbers? Mulan II delivers all of this and more!

content.chilifreshTinker Bell and the Lost Treasure: I’m actually a big fan of all the Tinker Bell movies that Disney has released in the past few years. I’m not exactly sure why I like this one the most. It might be due to all the sparkly blue fairy dust at the end of the movie.

Leave a Reply

