Art Exhibit: The Fashionable Figure

Virginia Johnson is a freelance illustrator based in the scenic Mountain West. She recently received a Bachelor of Fine Arts from Utah Valley University. This exhibit showcases a series of drawings and paintings entitled “The Fashionable Figure.”

BFA 2

“I’ve always found the process of drawing drapery and clothing to be very soothing. When I began preparing for my senior project in the BFA program at UVU it felt like nothing was working out. I finally began to draw a series of fashion illustrations as a way to relax, this turned into the only thing I was interested in drawing so I decided to use it as the subject matter for my senior project. Through this work I have attempted to explore drapery, shape, and color and how these elements combine to create an elegant female figure.”

BFA 3.jpg

Leave a Reply

