Chicken Pot Pie with Sweet Potatoes

I’ve decided good cookbooks need exceptionally creative titles. If I see a cookbook with the title, Crockpot Meals, or What’s for Dinner? I automatically think BORING and I don’t want to crack the cover or in my case download it onto my Kindle and use up one of the “only 5 checkouts allowed” on Overdrive. (Which, by the way for those in charge types, I really don’t like. I think I should be able to customize how many I can check out and that number needs to have two digits.) Cookbook titles should sound awe inspiring, easy, and motivating, like World Domination in Three Easy Steps with these Delectable Dinners, or Yams, it’s what’s for Dinner.

As a self proclaimed “I really don’t like anything about cooking, the decisions, the shopping, the cooking, the family complaints otherwise known as ‘what’s in this?’ and the cleaning up” person, I don’t associate Dinner with Love. Thus, this title, Dinner: A Love Story caught my eye.

I scanned the introduction and decided to give this one a chance when I read the author, Jenny Rosenstrach’s caveat, “Olives. I’m sorry. I know it’s a major culinary weakness, but I really don’t like olives, so you won’t find them anywhere in these pages.” Finally, someone who understands my aversion to olives! It’s very freeing to know I have entered an olive free zone.

I settled on Chicken Pot Pie because I’ve always had a weakness for those frozen pot pies that I consumed in college. It was amazingly easy to put together. She suggests using grocery store rotisserie chicken, but I happened to have some canned chicken and used that. I also used a red potato instead of sweet potato as that was one of the substitutions listed. And just a side note, I used a fresh from the ground potato and carrot which really makes a difference. If you haven’t ever had a fresh from the ground carrot, sliced and sauteed in butter you don’t know what you are missing, they are incredible!

1119151749

The pie came out looking and smelling delicious! It really tasted delicious and the whole family loved it. I may not be able to eat another frozen pot pie!

Chicken Pot Pie with Sweet Potatoes from Dinner: A Love Story by Jenny Rosenstrach

1 cup chicken broth
1 small sweet potato or yam, peeled and diced (or red or Yukon Gold potato)
1 medium carrot, peeled and chopped
½ medium onion, chopped
Leaves from 2 sprigs of fresh thyme
Salt and pepper to taste
½ cup milk (any kind)
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 cups cooked chicken, shredded with two forks (store bought rotisserie-style is ideal)
1/3 cup frozen peas
1 store bought 9 inch pie crust
1 egg, lightly beaten

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

In a medium saucepan, bring the broth to a boil. Add the sweet potato, carrot, onion, thyme, and salt and pepper. Simmer for 15 minutes, or until the vegetables are soft.

While the vegetables are simmering, in a measuring cup or small bowl, whisk together the milk and flour.

Once veggies are soft, slowly add the flour-milk mixture, stirring until the filling has thickened. (That’s the flour working.) Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the chicken and peas.

Add the pot pie filling to a 9-inch pie plate. Cover with the pie crust and cut a few slits on the top to allow the steam to escape while baking. Using a pastry brush, paint with the egg wash, which will result in a nice golden sheen.

Bake the pie for 25 to 30 minutes, until fillings looks bubbly inside.

Leave a Reply

