Frittata

I kept seeing this series on the shelves of bookstores and the library so I decided I wanted to try it out. The series sounded intriguing because I love to read and I love new recipes and this series had both. It is called “a culinary mystery.” Each book in the series chronicles the adventures of Sadie Hoffmiller, a middle-aged woman with a knack for solving murders. Sadie loves food too and shares her recipes throughout each book. Each book is titled with some kind of dessert, but that is not the only recipe you find in the book. Each time Sadie eats out at a restaurant or cafe, she shares a recipe from something she ate. I loved the book and can’t wait to read the rest of the series and enjoy more delicious recipes.

DSC_0156.jpg

The book I read was Fortune Cookie by Josi S. Kilpack. I ended up accidentally choosing a book near the end of the series because I was not aware that it was a series at first. That did not affect my being able to follow the story or characters, but I don’t want you to make the same mistake as me. Start with Rocky Road. Anyways, this book was very engaging. I grew to love the main character and she got me excited about the food she was eating (and the mystery she was solving!). The book has a lot of scrumptious recipes, including recipes for Wonderful Jam Bars, Fresh Peach Pie, Gyoza, Chicken Tetrazzini, Chicken Corn Chowder, Cheater Sourdough Bread, and homemade Fortune Cookies (of course!). The recipe I decided to try out for you is Frittata. I had always heard of frittatas before, but I had never had it. Let’s just say it makes an excellent brunch! Here’s the recipe:

Frittata from Fortune Cookie by Josi. S. Kilpack

6 eggs
1 ounce Parmesan cheese, grated
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
Pinch of salt
1 teaspoon butter
1/2 cup chopped roasted asparagus
1/2 cup chopped ham
1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley (or 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley)

Preheat oven to broil setting.

In a medium-sized bowl blend together eggs, Parmesan, pepper, and salt with a fork until eggs are well beaten. Heat a 12-inch, nonstick, oven-safe sauté pan over medium heat.

Melt butter in pan. Add asparagus and ham and sauté for 2 to 3 minutes.

Pour egg mixture into pan and stir with rubber spatula just enough to combine eggs with the meat and veggies. Cook for 4 to 5 minutes without stirring or until the egg mixture has set on the bottom. Sprinkle with parsley.

Broil for 3 to 4 minutes, until lightly browned and fluffy. Remove from oven, and, if desired, top with 2 ounces of your favorite cheese. Let cool for a few minutes before cutting into wedges. Serve immediately.

Enjoy with a variety of meats and vegetables – just avoid something that would throw off the consistency of the egg mixture, such as cream cheese or salsa.
Makes 4 servings.

Note: This is a great way to use up leftover meats and vegetables.

I didn’t have any ham so I used precooked, chopped bacon in place of the ham. I also didn’t have any parsley so I omitted that. I also cheated. I did not have a sauté pan that was also oven safe so I set the bottom of the eggs in the sauté pan and then slid it off onto a cookie sheet for the broiler stage. I didn’t need it under the broiler for as long as it called for. If I had left it under the broiler for as long as listed above, I would have had a blackened top! I found that 1 1/2 minutes under my broiler worked perfectly. So, you may need to adjust the broiling time for your oven. I topped mine with cheddar cheese and sliced green onions. It was so delicious and was a perfect brunch! I ate it with a side of homemade sourdough bread. My son topped it with sour cream and hot sauce. I will keep this on my list of quick and easy light meals!

Leave a Reply

