Cal’s Cherry Chocolate Chip Cookies

The recipe today comes from a book that my sister-in-law recommended to me. It’s a quirky teenage love story about Cal and Eliot called Scrambled Eggs at Midnight by Brad Barkley and Heather Hepler. Cal is used to traveling around the country with her mom to attend various Renaissance fairs and Eliot’s family runs a Christian fat camp. When Cal and her mom show up in the same town where Eliot’s family lives, a chance meeting blossoms into more. Cal and Eliot are 15 years old and end up finding a love that is unique and heart-warming. One of the reasons I enjoyed the book so much was because the romance in the book was clean and endearing. There are only two recipes in the entire book – one of Eliot’s and one of Cal’s. When reading Cal’s recipe, it was different from anything I’ve tried before, but sounded great so I decided to make her recipe. I have had cherries pastel (chocolate-dipped dried cherries) before so I figured cherries and chocolate chips might just go really well together in a cookie. I also felt like the recipe epitomized Cal and Eliot’s love story – two very different ingredients that seem to make something great when put together.

DSC_0001 (1).jpg

Cal’s Cherry Chocolate Chip Cookies from Scrambled Eggs at Midnight by Brad Barkley and Heather Hepler

1 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups oats
1 cup dried cherries
6 ounces chocolate chips
1 cup chopped, toasted pecans (optional)

Cream butter and sugars.

Add egg and vanilla.

Add flour and baking soda, then oats, cherries, pecans, and chips.

Mix gently.

Drop onto lined baking sheet.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes.

Yield: 3 dozen

I loved this recipe for its simplicity. I made it almost exactly as written. All I added was 1 teaspoon of baking powder so that the cookies would puff up as well as spread out. I chopped the dried cherries into small pieces about the same size as the chocolate chips so I wouldn’t have something huge in the cookies. Note: 6 ounces of chocolate chips is the same as 1 cup. As for the cooking time, I baked them for 10 minutes so I would have softer, chewier cookies. If you like crunchy cookies, that’s where you would want to bake them for 11 to 12. These were so easy and tasted great! Everyone who tried them said they really liked them. My son even went so far as to call them his new favorite cookie. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

