Food, It’s Not Just for Eating

Living in the wonderful Wyoming wilderness I don’t have access to many things that I’m used to. The internet is a life line for me. Overdrive and my kindle are my best friends, but the selection is sometimes limited and I was not finding any cookbooks that I wanted to try. As I was lamenting this fact I remembered that I had access to lots of magazines through Zinio! Zinio is a wonderful tool that as an Orem Library card holder you can access and use it to download magazines onto your computer or tablet. You can access it by going to the Orem Library’s web page and clicking on e-books and magazines on the top bar. Zinio is the last option on the pull down menu. The resolution is quite good and you can even be notified when a new issue comes out. The selection is varied from National Geographic to Newsweek to Popular Science. I selected Better Homes and Gardens because I like to add their ideas to my wish list of the perfect house and browse the recipes.

In the Better Homes and Gardens, August 2015 issue I found a list of health tips that use common household items. I was intrigued and read through the list. I decided to try two of them: Conditioning Hair Mask and Refreshing Foot Soak.

BHG-August-Mag.jpg

I gathered the ingredients, opened the Josh Groban channel on Pandora, and settled down to relax!

Both recipes were exceedingly easy to put together. I didn’t have any flower petals here in the frozen north to add to the foot soak, so I used pine needles of which there is an abundance. The amazing smell permeated my house and worked better than any scented candle. The chamomile in this neutralizes odor so I think it should be a required activity for my 15 year old son and all teenage boys! My feet liked this experience and I might have to repeat it.

The hair mask was interesting! It was hard to massage it into my hair because it was pretty thick. I suggest leaning over the sink if you don’t want clumps of avocado everywhere! I procured a shower cap (it pays to save those toiletries set out for you at hotels) and set the timer. When it was time to rinse and shampoo be sure to take the time to really rinse out your hair so you don’t leave any avocado in your hair! My hair smells slightly of yogurt, but that’s not so bad! I’m not sure I would take the time to do this weekly, but it may be a great remedy if you or a family member swims a lot.

In retrospect I’m glad I did this when I was alone in the house, I’m sure I looked a sight with the shower cap on my avocado tinged hair and my feet in yellowish water singing along with Josh Groban!

Conditioning Hair Mask
An avocado-yogurt-honey combo is the perfect remedy for summer stressed hair, says Janice Cox, author of Natural Beauty at Home. “Rich in oils, avocados restore moisture and shine,” she explains. Use weekly to help repair damage caused by sun, saltwater, and chlorine.

You will need:
1 ripe avocado
2 Tbsp. plain yogurt (any type)
2 tsp. pure honey
1. Blend ingredients in a shallow bowl to make a smooth paste.
2. Massage mixture into damp hair and then cover with a shower cap or old cotton towel.
3. Let mixture soak into hair for 20 minutes, then rinse and shampoo.

Refreshing Foot Soak
Give your feet the TLC they deserve. Chamomile tea soothes skin and neutralizes odor-causing bacteria, and lavender oil moisturizes as it relaxes tense muscles.

You Will Need
1 gallon hot water
5 chamomile tea bags
4-6 drop essential oil of lavender
Fresh flower petals
• Pour hot water into a small tub or bucket big enough for your feet. Add tea bags, and steep for about 10 minutes.
• Add essential oil and fresh flower petals, then test the water to make sure it’s not too hot.
• Soak your feet for 15 to 20 minutes. Towel-dry, then massage in a favorite lotion.

One response to “Food, It’s Not Just for Eating

  1. Pingback: Best of the Blog 2016 | Just Browsing·

Leave a Reply

