Author Interview: David Powers King

Tell us about your book Woven. How did it come to be?

Woven is a YA adventure about a young man who dreamed of becoming a knight for his kingdom. He’s close to his goal when a mysterious stranger kills him. He wWovenCoverakes up as a ghost, and no one can see him except for a spoiled princess who wants nothing to do with him. Together they learn of a magic called fabrication and decide to join forces so they can find a magic needle that can sew him back to life and mend the world.

Michael and I first met as employees at a mental health hospital. After Michael told me his idea for this story, we decided to join forces and write it together. The result is a story we’re both proud of.

What made you decide to start writing?

My writing journey started in my first year of high school, beginning with an idea for a science fiction story that just wouldn’t leave me alone. While waiting for my ride home after swim practice, I pulled out some lined paper and wrote one of the scenes. I couldn’t stop writing, scene after scene, until I put all those scenes together into one story. I’ve been writing and coming up with new stories ever since.

What advice would you give to new writers?

The best way to start writing is to get on your computer or grab a pad of paper and start writing. Set writing goals every day, be it a page or 10 pages a day. Share what you write with family and friends. There are many amazing writing conferences in Utah that are worth going to, where you’ll learn from published authors and professionals. But most importantly, dream big and follow that dream.

Tell us a little about your process and habits as a writer.DPK 2015

For now I write whenever I can, but mostly in the evenings. Sometimes I like to have a candle burning while I’m writing fantasy. While I was writing The Undead Road, a young adult zombie novel, I had this strange craving for beef jerky. I ate lot of it. Creepy, huh? I also enjoy listening to movie and video game soundtracks while I write. Usually when a new story idea crawls or flashes into my brain, I will map out an outline with a brief description of each chapter.

What literary world would you most like to be real?

I would personally love to play the zero gravity battle games inside the battle school found in the Ender’s Game universe, but I also know I would feel right at home in the rolling hills of the Shire.

Are you a library user? What are your favorite things about libraries?

Huge library user here! I love that there are so many amazing stories to choose from, sometimes in books that are find to find in the bookstores. It’s a great place to take my family, too. My kids love checking books out with their own cards. I occasionally like bringing my laptop to the Orem Library to do some writing as well.

David Powers King is a fantasy and science fiction author. He has a bachelor’s degree in behavioral science and is a big fan of zombies and the paranormal. His first published book, Woven, was co-authored with Michael Jensen and published in 2015 by Scholastic. His latest book, The Undead Road: My Zombie Summer #1, came out in January.

4 responses to “Author Interview: David Powers King

  1. It is rare to see a nice page like this one these days. I found your blogs via Twitter while searching for a related topic, your website came up and I am so happy it did This might be a weird thing to to say but… I really like your articles. You remind me of my aunt.

  2. I discovered your website by luck Hit me up! I am bored to death at work so I decided to browse your posts on my iphone during lunch break. The people you love are lucky to have you in their lives.

  3. I enjoyed reading this. You should be thanked more often. You appear to know a lot about this. I was looking everywhere and this popped up like nothing! it is like you wrote the book on it or something.

Leave a Reply

