Maddox House Rolls

I know what you’re going to tell me. I’ve already featured a recipe from this series. I know I have, but I just had to try this recipe because it sounded different from anything I’ve made before. And then after I tried it, I had to share it because it was so good! Today’s recipe comes from the culinary mystery Rocky Road by Josi S. Kilpack. In the book, these rolls are rumored to come from the Maddox Ranch House in Perry, Utah. I’ve never been there, but after looking at their website, I can tell you that I may want to visit someday. The Ranch House looks like a charming place to eat with a cabin feel and they claim to be “Utah’s original steakhouse.” I don’t know about you, but, to me, the rolls at a steakhouse are just as important as the quality of their steaks.

These rolls are different than your usual dinner rolls. Instead of having to roll out the dough and then shape the rolls, a batter is made that you then drop by scoopful into muffin tins. And because you don’t have to roll them out, the batter can be a lot wetter than your normal yeast dough. Because of the high moisture content in the batter, this allows for a much fluffier and moist roll. These rolls are light and they literally melt in your mouth. They have a hint of sweetness and they will have you going back for more! As is the tradition at Maddox Ranch House, you need to serve them with raspberry butter so the recipe for raspberry butter is also included.

Maddox Rolls

1 tablespoon active dry yeast or instant yeast
1/4 cup warm water
1/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup shortening
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup scalded milk*
1/2 cup cold water
2 eggs, beaten
3 1/2 cups flour

For regular yeast: In a small bowl, sprinkle yeast over warm water; set aside. In separate larger bowl, combine sugar, shortening, and salt; mix well. Add scalded milk, cold water, and beaten eggs; mix about 1 minute, or until well combined. Stir in dissolved yeast. Add flour. Mix four minutes.

For instant yeast: In mixing bowl, combine 2 cups flour, 1 tablespoon yeast, sugar, and salt; mix well. Add shortening, eggs, scalded milk, and 3/4 cup hot water; mix 2 minutes. Add remaining 1 1/2 cups flour; mix 2 minutes more. (This is a “batter” roll rather than a “dough” roll. Batter will be soft.)

When ingredients are combined, cover bowl; let batter rise in warm place 45 to 60 minutes, or until double in size. Stir batter down. Spoon into greased muffin tins, filling 18 muffin cups about 2/3 full. Cover; let rise an additional 45 to 60 minutes, or until double in size.

Bake at 400 degrees. 15 to 20 minutes, or until lightly browned.

Makes 18 rolls.

*Evaporated milk may be substituted for scalded milk.

Raspberry Butter

1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup raspberry jam
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Mix all ingredients together until smooth. Makes about 3/4 cup.

I followed this recipe as written, although I did bake them for less time than shown. I only baked them for 12-13 minutes at 400°F. For some reason, mine came out too brown when I baked them for longer and 12-13 minutes seemed much better for my tastes. I followed the directions for regular active dry yeast and I used the suggestion to use evaporated milk in place of scalded milk. I used about 1/2 a can of evaporated milk so if you double the recipe, one can of evaporated milk is perfect! The batter is pretty soft. You almost feel like you’re making muffins rather than rolls. However, the end result was so worth it! My family loved these rolls and I wished I had doubled the recipe. The rolls were just the perfect amount of sweetness and completely melted in your mouth. I didn’t make the raspberry butter, but I think I will for next time. I hope your family enjoys them as much as my family and I did!

One response to “Maddox House Rolls

  1. Um, if you’ve never been to Maddox, you need to rethink your life choices. And get yourself to Maddox.

Leave a Reply

