Happy National Library Week

I am so pleased to live in a world that dedicates a whole week to the celebration of libraries. The Orem Library has always been a kind of sanctuary for me, a place where I can go and think or meditate without the pressures of the outside world to distract me. No one bothers you at a library unless you want them to. A library is a place where you can pick up any book and not feel like someone is going to judge you for your taste in reading material. Whether you like mystery or romance, astrology or astronomy, everything is in one place, sitting side by side on the shelf. A library truly is a magical place.

What are some of your favorite things about libraries?

“A library is like the best person you know–politely quite but endlessly informative, amazingly knowledgeable but charmingly discreet, open to everyone yet subject to your every whim, and, sadly, flammable if one isn’t careful. Be careful with yours.” –Lemony Snicket

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” –Dr. Seuss

“There is no friend as loyal as a book.” –Ernest Hemingway

“Wherever I am, if I’ve got a book with me, I have a place I can go and be happy.” –J.K. Rowling
“I couldn’t go to college, so I went to the library for three days a week for 10 years.” –Ray Bradbury

Leave a Reply

