Chunky Cinnamon Applesauce

A few weeks ago, in an attempt to incorporate more fruit into my diet, I bought a bag of apples. After eating one I remembered why I don’t eat apples. I’m sorry if this offends the hard core apple fans out there but to my palate apples are gross, they have a weird texture and are too sweet. I don’t mind apples in other things, even in chunks in a fresh salad, just a whole apple on its own is too much for me. So now I had to face the dilemma of what to do with a bag of apples I wasn’t going to eat. Luckily I found this great recipe for Chunky Cinnamon Applesauce in the book Down Home Cooking the New, Healthier Way from Reader’s Digest.

image1.jpegIngredients:

6 pounds large tart cooking apples (about 14)

1 cup cold water

1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar

1½ teaspoons ground cinnamon

⅛ teaspoon ground cloves

4 cinnamon sticks, each 3-inches long

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

Prep Time: 20 minutes / Cooking Time: 35 minutes

Pare and core the apples, then cut them into 1-inch chunks. In a large stainless steel or enameled stockpot, bring the apples, water, sugar, cinnamon, cloves, and cinnamon sticks to a full rolling boil over moderate heat. Lower the heat, cover, and simmer, stirring often, for 10 minutes.

Remove the cover and cook, stirring often, 10 minutes longer or until the apples are very tender. Remove from the heat, discard the cinnamon sticks, and stir in the lemon juice.

Spoon applesauce into 4 one-pint canning jars.

If you’re feeling adventurous you can preserve the sauce but I was not so that part of the recipe didn’t happen. Also, I’m not sure I used tart cooking apples since all apple’s general taste the same to me and I can’t remember what type of apples I bought in the first place. The apples never seemed to make the leap from apple chunks to applesauce but I’m ok with that.
For an extra treat heat these up and eat them with vanilla ice cream!

Leave a Reply

