Avocado Dip

Avocados. Creamy. Delicious. And the perfect dip for tortilla chips! And Cinco de Mayo was coming up. I had a few avocados that I needed to use up and found this recipe in The Blender Bible by Andrew Chase and Nicole Young. Truth be told, when I picked up this book, I was looking for smoothie recipes. When I skimmed through the book, I realized that this book was a lot more than a smoothie book. (In fact, smoothie recipes make up only a very small portion of the book.) It has recipes for dressings, dips, soups, breads, desserts, baby food, and more. It really is the “all-the-things-I-can-do-with-a-blender” book. I love guacamole and when I purchased the avocados, that’s what I had in mind. When I saw this recipe though, I figured I’d give it a shot. Besides, it sounded a lot easier than my normal guacamole dip because I didn’t have to chop everything up – my blender could do that for me!

The Blender Bible

1 avocado

3 green onions, white part only, chopped

1 clove garlic, smashed

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

3 Tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1/4 tsp Mexican green hot pepper sauce or other hot pepper sauce

 

  1. Halve and pit avocado and scoop out flesh into blender. Add onions, garlic, oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper and hot pepper sauce; blend on low speed until smooth and fluffy.

 

I used a large avocado and I would recommend using 2 avocados if you use small ones. I didn’t have the green onion so I threw in about a quarter of a regular onion in without chopping it. I also did not have the Mexican green hot pepper sauce so I just used the red Mexican hot sauce that I had on hand. This dip was so easy to make! It turned out true to their promise of being light and fluffy. I do think that I would cut back a little on the lemon juice next time though. I took this dip to a baby shower with tortilla chips. It could also be used on tacos or burritos, as a spread for burgers, or anywhere else you would use guacamole. It was simple and delicious! I hope you enjoy it as well!

Leave a Reply

