Volunteer Storyteller Interview: Marilyn Bufkin-Davis

1. Describe yourself in a nutshell.

I am a retired kindergarten teacher and grandmother who LOVES young children and knows the importance of early literacy.

2. How did you first hear about volunteer storytelling? What led to you becoming a volunteer storyteller?

I was a long time resident of Orem and so I knew of the program. I had wanted to be involved as soon as I retired.

3. What is your approach to storytelling? How do you come up with your ideas?

I always have a theme. I build my laptimes around songs and rhymes and engaging books

4. What is your favorite part of being a volunteer storyteller?

Laughing children!

5. What do you think it takes to make a good storyteller? Any tips or words of advice to offer aspiring storytellers?

I think children respond to playfulness. Smiles and interacting with them brings them into your storytime. Using a variety of voices, facial expressions, and props help to keep their attention.

6. Do you have any memorable experiences or stories from your volunteer experience that you would like to share?

It’s fun as I am out in the community to have kids to say “Hi Mother Goose!” I was subbing in a preschool last week and the kids were calling me Suzy Safari (my other character).

7. Do you have any thoughts on the importance of volunteering or storytelling and how it has influenced your life or your family’s life, etc.?

It has greatly enriched my life. Since retiring, storytelling has become part of my purpose. Some of my grandchildren are starting to follow in my footsteps and come to help me. It is joyful to see them grow as they serve these little ones.

Leave a Reply

