Jell-O Strawberry Banana Smoothie

JelloJell-O is one of those incredibly versatile treats. The history behind it is interesting in how it became what it is today. Jell-O started in the 1800s and the puddings were introduced in the late 1920s when it acquired a company that made pudding powders. I think one of the appeals of Jell-O is how easy it is to make. I don’t know about you, but cold treats are something I love about summer – ice cream, smoothies, popsicles, snow cones, etc. Jell-O is also one of those cold sweet treats perfect in so many different formats – on its own, mixed in salads, in pies, etc. When I saw the book Celebrating 100 years of Jell-O: America’s Most Famous Dessert, I thought I might be able to find a simple treat for summer that my kids would enjoy and be able to help me make. This recipe does not require a lot of ingredients or prep work, and it tastes great!

Strawberry Banana Smoothie

2 cups crushed ice

1 cup cold milk

1 package (4-serving size) Jell-O brand Strawberry Flavor Gelatin Dessert

1 container (8 ounces) Breyers Vanilla Lowfat Yogurt

1 large banana, cut into chunks

Place all ingredients in blender container; cover. Blend on high speed 30 seconds or until smooth. Serve immediately.

Makes 4 servings

DSC_0026

I made 2 versions of this recipe. The first time I made it, I made it in the amounts written, but using a store brand gelatin instead of Jell-O brand and using plain yogurt instead of vanilla. When I made it that way, the smoothie was way too sweet for my tastes. My kids, however, loved it. So I made it a second time and doubled the amount of milk and did 3 1/2 cups of ice and used the other amounts as written, again substituting plain yogurt for the vanilla. I also had to use raspberry gelatin instead of strawberry because I had used up the strawberry in the first batch. It turned out so much better with the extra milk and ice and it made a lot more than 4 servings doing it this way. It was just right on the sweetness level and made more like 6 servings. I hope this sweet treat will help you and your family stay cool this summer! Enjoy!

One response to “Jell-O Strawberry Banana Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Best of the Blog 2016 | Just Browsing·

Leave a Reply

