Zucchini-Ginger Pancakes with Thai Dipping Sauce

Pancakes A-ZSummer is here and one thing that seems to be plentiful in summer is zucchini. I love how versatile zucchini is and that is can be used in sweet or savory dishes. I’m always looking for new and delicious zucchini recipes since my neighbors always seem to be handing out extra zucchinis towards the end of summer and my own garden seems to produce more than my family enjoys eating sautéed or grilled. So even though I had picked up the book from which today’s recipe comes for a new breakfast pancake recipe, I decided that I had to try this one. The recipe today comes from the book Pancakes A to Z  by Marie Simmons.

Zucchini-Ginger Pancakes

2 cups coarsely shredded zucchini (about 2 medium)

1/2 cup coarsely shredded carrots

1/2 cup finely chopped scallions

2 tablespoons grated fresh ginger

1/4 cup cracker meal or matzo meal

2 large, eggs, lightly beaten

1/2 teaspoon salt

Vegetable oil

  1. Combine the zucchini, carrots, scallions, and ginger in a large bowl; stir to blend. Add the cracker meal or matzo meal, eggs and salt; stir to blend.
  2. Heat 1/4 inch oil in a large skillet until hot enough to sizzle a crust of bread. Add the batter by rounded tablespoons and fry, turning, until lightly browned on both sides. Repeat with the remaining batter.
  3. Serve warm with Thai Dipping Sauce. These are great made ahead and frozen. To reheat, spread the frozen pancakes on a nonstick baking sheet and place in a preheated 300*F oven for 15 to 20 minutes.

I made this recipe exactly as written. I used my cookie scooper to drop the batter into the hot oil. They can fall apart easily until they are cooked through so you don’t want to move them until they look like they may be ready to turn. This recipe made about 15 mini pancakes and they would be a perfect appetizer or side dish with any Asian-inspired meal. These little pancakes packed a ton of flavor in a few bites. Make sure you use the fresh ginger! It completely made the recipe. My husband really liked them a lot. Even my son who doesn’t like any kind of squash wanted to try these and liked them. Truth be told though, there weren’t many for my children to try, my teenager, my husband, and I devoured most of them before my children could even decide if they wanted to try them. I didn’t have the time or ingredients to make the Thai Dipping Sauce below, but I did have the ingredients for Thai Peanut Dipping Sauce (1/2 cup Mr. Yoshida’s sauce and 3 tablespoons peanut butter mixed together until smooth).These were incredible with the peanut dipping sauce and I bet they would be great with the Thai Dipping Sauce included in the book (hence why it is included even though I didn’t try it out!). I hope you try these out when your neighbors start bringing you their gargantuan zucchinis at the end of summer!

DSC_0003 (2)

Thai Dipping Sauce

1/4 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup fish sauce

1/4 cup lime juice

2 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons thinly sliced hot chili pepper (jalapeno or serrano are good)

1 garlic clove, minced

Combine the soy sauce, fish sauce, lime juice, 1/4 cup hot water, sugar, chili pepper and garlic in a small bowl. Serve at room temperature.

One response to “Zucchini-Ginger Pancakes with Thai Dipping Sauce

Leave a Reply

