What We Read Over the Summer

Sad that summer is almost over? We feel your pain, and are here to ease it with a list of what we read over the summer.

9781101886694_custom-a4d802e39e4ef28ef27ec439a7a0b705289989fc-s400-c85Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel: This is an awesome Science Fiction book that reminded me a lot of The Martian and World War Z. The book is about Rose Franklin, who leaves her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, on her 11th birthday to go for a bike ride. Rose suddenly falls through the earth and accidentally discovers the most important artifact of all time–a giant metal hand.

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry: A Novel by Gabrielle Zevin: I have liked Gabrielle Zevin’s work since I read her YA novel Elsewhere many years ago, so I was excited to read this one. AJ Fikry is a widower, the owner of a struggling bookstore, and a bit of a curmudgeon when his life is turned upside down by the sudden appearance of an orphaned baby left in the store. The turns his life takes from there are lovely and surprising and poignant, all the while tied together by the love of books.

Funny Little Pregnant Things:  (the good, the bad and the just plain gross things about pregnancy that other books aren’t going to tell you) by Emily Doherty: O51giORZ2rBLnce upon a time five months ago I was pregnant. I wish I had read this book while I was, because it was great and funny and I read it all in one sitting and thought about how great it would have been to read during the hours and hours I spent emptying my bladder or struggling futilely in bed to get comfortable or hating everyone who could walk at a normal pace or eat without throwing up or go without eating for more than two hours.

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost): A Memoir by Felicia Day: For those who don’t know who Felicia Day is, you really need to stop spending so much time outdoors and start wasting more time watching YouTube videos and playing World of Warcraft. I really enjoyed reading about her experiences with gaming, girlhood, and geekery. She was home schooled (just like me!), and graduated from college at age 19, double-majoring in math and music performance (just like me again! Except nope, not at all) before she decided she wanted to pursue a career in acting. Anyone who types comments online for people to read should read this book.

Victorian secrets : what a corset taught me about the past, the present, and myself / by Sarah A. Chrisman: I picked up this book on a whim and ended up being completely fascinated. The author describes her experience wearing a Victorian corset for an entire year. It includes a lot of pictures from Victorian era and of the author in corset attire, and it is quite amazing to look at just how your body and clothes can be manipulated to transform your appearance, behavior, etc., not to mention the way other people treat you.

41A9+GtwrDL._SX342_BO1,204,203,200_Sisters by Raina Telgemeier: I love Raina Telgemeier. I first heard of her because one time I covered the children’s desk and literally three kids came to me wanting to find a copy of her book Smile, which is the hilarious, painful, and true story of her relationship with braces, the dentist, and all things tooth-and-childhood-related. You should go immediately check out and read everything by her because it is funny, heartwarming, honest, and relatable.

Leave a Reply

