Spicy Frito Pie

200 Slow Cooker CreationsThe crock pot or slow cooker is my favorite kitchen accessory. It means less time spent in the kitchen and in the summer it translates into a cooler kitchen since the oven can remain peacefully unused. 200 Slow Cooker Creations by Stephanie Ashcraft and Janet Eyring gave me a lot, well 200, recipes to free up my time and cool off my house.

I was drawn to Spicy Frito Pie because of the few ingredients it required and because anything with Fritos in it will be a winner at my house. I had to chuckle when the recipe asked for one bag of Fritos. I bought two bags, although I should have purchased three, but I’m trying to win a losing battle of more food in my children’s bowls and less chips. To be fair, I’m just as bad as they are!

I omitted the Tabasco sauce since a few of my children are averse to really spicy foods and so I never buy Tabasco. I did have some crushed red pepper flakes and I added a few shakes to give it a mild punch. I also did not remove the pork from the beans, I’m wasn’t sure how that would change the recipe and I didn’t want to go digging around in the beans to find that small chunk of pork. I also used twice as much hamburger to feed my large family as well as adding a can of corn in the last 30 minutes to stretch it a little further.

It was really tasty and my family completely cleaned out every last drop! I will definitely feed this again to my family.

Spicy Frito Pie

½ pound ground beef, browned and drained

2 (16-ounce) cans pork and beans, pork removed

1 (4-ounce) can chopped green chiles

1 (8-ounce) can tomato sauce

4 to 6 drops Tabasco sauce

1 bag Fritos corn chips

Combine all of the ingredients except the chips in a greased 3- to 4 ½ quart slow cooker. Cover and cook on low heat for 6 to 8 hours or on high heat for 3 to 4 hours. Scoop over a handful of Fritos.

0802161741

Note: Try serving with some shredded lettuce, diced tomato, sour cream, and grated cheddar cheese on top!

Makes 6 to 8 servings

Leave a Reply

