Thai Curried Rice

The Ultimate Rice Cooker Cookbook
I don’t know about you, but when it’s hot outside, any cooking on the stove or the oven in the kitchen seems almost unbearable.  To solve this problem, I usually cook on the grill or use a crockpot, a pressure cooker, or a rice cooker. I love the convenience of one pot meals as well, so I really enjoyed looking through The Ultimate Rice Cooker Cookbook by Beth Hensperger and Julie Kaufmann. Since I love the flavor combinations in Asian cooking, especially Thai, this recipe stood out to me.


Thai Curried Rice

3 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 tablespoon peeled and minced fresh ginger

1 cup domestic jasmine rice

1 tablespoon mild or hot curry powder

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons chicken stock

1/3 cup canned unsweetened coconut milk (can be light)

2 tablespoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons fresh lime juice

Grated zest of 1 small lime

1 teaspoon Chinese hot chile sauce

Pinch of salt

1/3 cup dark raisins, dried tart cherries, or dried currants

1/3 cup slivered blanched almonds

1/2 cup minced green onions, both white and green parts

  1. Preheat the oven to 325*F.
  2. Set the rice cooker for the Quick Cook or regular cycle. Place the butter in the rice cooker bowl. When melted, add the ginger and rice. Cook, stirring a few times, until the grains are evenly coated and hot, about 10 minutes. Add the curry powder and stir.
  3. Meanwhile, in a large measuring cup, combine the stock, coconut milk, soy sauce, lime juice and zest, chile sauce, and salt. Add the stock mixture and raisins to the rice; stir just to combine. Close the cover and reset for the regular cycle or let the regular cycle complete.
  4. While the rice is cooking, place the almonds on a baking sheet and bake until lightly toasted, about 6 minutes. Remove from the baking sheet and let cool to room temperature.
  5. When the machine switches to the Keep Warm cycle, sprinkle the rice with the toasted almonds and green onions. Close the cover and let the rice steam for 15 minutes. Fluff the rice with a wooden or plastic rice paddle or wooden spoon. Serve immediately.

Note: This pilaf can be held for 1 to 2 hours on Keep Warm; however, do not add the almonds and green onions to the rice until 15 minutes before serving.

DSC_0003 (3)

This recipe was so easy! It’s a one pot meal that is incredibly delicious. I made a few modifications because I wanted it to cook while I was at the gym and then my family and I could just come home and eat. Because I wasn’t going to start the rice cooker right when I left, I did step 2 on the stovetop, then dumped it into the rice cooker and added the rest of the ingredients (except the nuts and green onions). The recipe above makes about 4 servings so I doubled the ingredients for my family of 7 and we had plenty. I didn’t have lime juice so I used lemon juice instead. (Oddly enough, I did have lime zest in my freezer so I had no problem with that ingredient. Go figure!)  Also, I used peanuts instead of the almonds because that’s what I had on hand. I used dark raisins as the dried fruit. This recipe was so simple. I loved that I could prepare it before I left and I came home from Zumba to a pot of delicious goodness! When I got home, I added the green onions and nuts and made homemade naan to eat with it. My family loved it! We were rolling it up in the naan and eating it that way. I will definitely be making this again! I hope your family enjoys the ease and scrumptiousness of this meal as well!

Leave a Reply

