Devil’s Food Cake with Sandra’s Chocolicious Frosting

Devil's Food Cake 2Chocolate. It’s my addiction. When I’m stressed, I eat chocolate. When I’m happy, I eat chocolate. When I want something sweet, I eat chocolate…..get the picture? I LOVE it! I’ve never been a super big fan of chocolate cake though. For me, the perfect chocolate cake has always seemed to be elusive. One is too dry, another has frosting that is way too sweet, another tastes more like a brownie than a cake because it’s so dense, etc. Well, let me tell you. I found the perfect chocolate cake in the book I was reading –Devil’s Food Cake by Josi Kilpack! In reading the description of the ingredients of the cake and frosting (both recipes come from the same book), I just had to make it, and it did not disappoint!

Devil’s Food Cake

1 cup sour milk (1 cup milk plus 2 teaspoons white vinegar or lemon juice) or 1 cup buttermilk

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 cups granulated sugar

2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1 cup vegetable oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup boiling water

1 teaspoon baking soda

For sour milk, mix milk and vinegar in a small bowl. Set aside for 5 minutes. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, mix together all ingredients except the water and baking soda. Mix until batter is smooth. Add the soda to the boiling water (kids love this part because it bubbles). Add soda-water mixture to batter. Mix well (batter will be thin).

Pour batter into a greased and floured 9×13-inch pan and bake 35 to 45 minutes or until middle is set.

If using round cake pans, grease pans very well and cut a circle of wax paper to fit inside the bottom of the pans to prevent cake from sticking when removed. Let cake cool 5 minutes in pans before turning out onto a wire rack.

Makes 12 servings.

Note: Shawn (i.e. Mint-aholic) likes a teaspoon of mint extract added to the batter.

(Just FYI, the Shawn mentioned in the above recipe is the son of the lead character of the book.)

I made sour milk for this recipe and used 3 medium eggs instead of 2 large eggs. I also chose to add the 1 teaspoon of mint extract. I also baked mine in a well greased and floured bundt pan because I wanted the frosting to be in almost every bite of cake and I wanted a nice presentation as we were having some guests for dinner. If you use a bundt pan, make sure to cook it for a little longer than you normally would a 9×13 to make sure it cooks all the way through. I baked mine for 40 minutes and it was just right. I let it cool in the pan until it was just warm, then turned it upside down on a platter to finish cooling. I made the frosting below a couple hours later.

Sandra’s Chocolicious Frosting

1/2 cup butter

2 tablespoons shortening

1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

8 ounces cream cheese, softened

3 cups powdered sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

Melt together butter and shortening. Whisk in cocoa and stir until smooth. Let cool until it is cool enough to touch. Add cream cheese and mix thoroughly. Add powdered sugar and vanilla. Mix well.

Covers 2 9-inch round layers or a 9×13-inch cake.

IMG_1707

I followed this recipe exactly as written, except I think my “cool enough to touch” was warmer than what the author was looking for. My frosting didn’t look much like frosting at first. It was pretty thin and even seemed a little grainy. I decided to put it in the refrigerator for about 10 minutes to allow the fats to harden up again and then beat it again and see what happened. Lucky for me, that worked! So, if you make the same mistake as I did, at least you’ll know how to fix it and you’ll know that it’s a fairly simple fix. Also, I felt that the amount of frosting was very generous in this recipe.

This cake and frosting combination was so addicting! It is very rich, but you want to keep eating because it is just perfect. The cake was fluffy and moist and the frosting had the perfect balance of chocolate, tang, and sweetness to go with the chocolate cake. In my opinion, this cake was everything a chocolate cake should be. This is what I’ve been looking for all my life! I really liked having the mint flavor in the cake. It was enough that you knew the mint was there, but was not overpowering. I think next time I might try adding a teaspoon of orange extract instead of the mint and having a cake that tastes like a chocolate orange (one of my favorite chocolate treats). Bon appetit!

One response to “Devil’s Food Cake with Sandra’s Chocolicious Frosting

  1. Pingback: Best of the Blog 2016 | Just Browsing·

Leave a Reply

