Company Cauliflower

The Big Book of PotluckVegetables, those necessary parts of dinner that I normally omit or choose to ignore on my plate. In my parenting career I have been woefully remiss in encouraging my children to eat those green things. I remember as a child sitting at the table for hours because I refused to eat my greens. As I became an adult I have taken great joy in the fact that I do not have to eat anything I do not want to eat. I often misuse this freedom, but it’s still a joy to me to decide not to eat healthily.

You may be asking yourself why I would choose to cook a vegetable if this is my attitude. Let me explain. Cauliflower does not seem like a vegetable to me. First of all, it’s not green. Secondly, you can drown it in delicious things that are not at all related to a vegetable. Company Cauliflower is the second recipe I’ve tried from The Big Book of Potluck, and it included cheese and bacon. How could I not try it?!

It’s a pretty simple recipe, yet I changed a few things. I had Miracle Whip on hand instead of mayonnaise and I used regular mustard instead of Dijon. I also used more bacon than the 4 pieces suggested by the recipe. 4 pieces of bacon is woefully inadequate no matter who you are! I also forgot to sprinkle the paprika on top, but I don’t think that adds much taste so it was no big deal.

It turned out scrumptious! My 10-year-old said she could eat it 1 or 2 times a week! Now that’s success if I’ve ever heard it!

Company Cauliflower

1 large head cauliflower, trimmed and broken up into florets

¼ cup mayonnaise

1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

¼ teaspoon salt

Freshly ground pepper

4 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled

¾ cup grated Cheddar cheese

Paprika for sprinkling on top

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a medium saucepan over medium-high heat, cook cauliflower in boiling salted water to cover until tender crisp, about 8 minutes. Cool under cold running water and drain. Place in an 8-inch-square baking dish lightly coated with cooking spray or oil.

In a small bowl, combine mayonnaise, mustard, salt, and pepper to taste. Spread evenly over cauliflower. Top with bacon and cheese. Sprinkle lightly with paprika. Bake, uncovered, until heated through and cheese is melted, about 15 minutes.

SERVES 6

0809161738

Leave a Reply

