Easy Homemade Rolls and Chubby Hubby Buckeye Truffles

Six Sisters' StuffWho doesn’t love tried and true recipes? I know I do! Whenever I see cookbooks written by people who I know have served a lot of people in their lifetime (based on the sheer size of their family), I am instantly sucked in. Because of the size of my family and extended family, I feel I have something in common with them immediately. Today’s recipes come from Six Sisters’ Stuff: Family Recipes, Fun Crafts, and So Much More! And as you may have already guessed, this book was written by six sisters who initially started out doing a blog together and made this cookbook based on the requests of their blog readers. So many of the recipes in this book sounded good, but I didn’t have time to make them all. The two listed below I did make (I couldn’t pick just one to share with you!) but others that caught my attention were Grilled 7-Up Chicken, Low-fat Baked Onion Rings, and Lunch Lady Peanut Butter Bars (do you remember these? Because I sure do and they were delightful!). I hope you enjoy these recipes and check out the book for more great recipes and craft ideas.

Easy Homemade Rolls

1 tablespoon active dry yeast (one packet)

1/2 cup sugar

3 eggs, beaten

1 cup lukewarm water

1/2 cup butter, melted

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 cups all-purpose flour

Mix yeast, sugar, eggs, water, butter, and salt together in a large bowl. Add flour. Mix well with a spoon, cover bowl with plastic wrap, and allow dough to rise 4 to 6 hours or overnight in the refrigerator. Do not knead the dough.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Turn out dough onto a lightly floured surface and divide in half. Roll each half of dough into a circle. Brush with additional melted butter and cut into 16 pieces, like a pizza. Roll up each piece from the large end to the point. Pinch tip of dough into roll so it doesn’t come loose. Place rolls on a cookie sheet and let rise 30 to 60 minutes. Bake 8 to 10 minutes.

Makes 3 dozen rolls.

DSC_0002 (1)

These really were true to their name. I love rolls and these were super easy. I mixed up the dough in the morning, placed it in the refrigerator while I was out and about for the day and then rolled these out an hour before dinner time and let them rise while I was fixing the rest of dinner. These rolls were light and fluffy and reminded me a lot of the Lion House rolls. They are sweet and were a perfect receptacle for my apricot jam. I did forget to brush these with butter before I rolled them up, but I put butter on them when they came hot out of the oven. I loved the simplicity of these rolls and will definitely be making them again. Note: hide them after you’ve had what you decided to eat beforehand. They are addictive!!!!!

Chubby Hubby Buckeye Truffles

1 1/2 cups pretzel pieces

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

1 tablespoon unsalted butter, room temperature

2 tablespoons light brown sugar

Pinch of salt

3 tablespoons powdered sugar

1 cup milk or semisweet chocolate chips

1 tablespoon shortening

Additional peanut butter, melted, for garnish

Additional pretzel pieces, for garnish

Line baking sheet with parchment paper or waxed paper. Put the pretzel pieces into a resealable gallon-sized plastic bag and crush into very small bits (a rolling pin works great for this).

In a small bowl, combine peanut butter, butter, brown sugar, and salt. Stir until all of the ingredients are completely blended and smooth. Add pretzel bits to the peanut butter mixture and mix thoroughly. Add powdered sugar and mix until completely combined.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls and place on prepared baking sheet. Place baking sheet in refrigerator and chill for at least 30 minutes.

When ready to dip the truffles, microwave the chocolate chips and shortening together in a small bowl at 50 percent power in 30-second increments, stirring after each, until completely melted and smooth.

Working one at a time, dip one peanut butter ball into the melted chocolate and use a fork to roll it around, ensuring that it is completely coated with chocolate. Let any excess chocolate drip off and place back on the waxed paper. Repeat until each peanut butter ball has been dipped.

Return the baking sheet to the refrigerator and chill for at least 30 minutes. Garnish with a drizzle of melted peanut butter and crushed pretzels, if desired. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Makes about 18 truffles.

DSC_0015

If you like Reese’s Nutrageous bars, you will love these cookies. I don’t think the name quite suits them though. I didn’t think they were very truffle-like. Truffles to me have a velvety interior that melts on your tongue. Because of the pretzel pieces in these, they are crunchy. So, my name for them would just be Chubby Hubby Buckeyes. I made the recipe as written, except I didn’t melt the peanut butter garnish. Rather, I just put peanut butter in a piping bag and piped a stripe of peanut butter on the chocolate-coated balls. Melting it and drizzling it on with a spoon probably would’ve worked just as well. The great thing about these cookies is the mixture of sweet and salty. Something about the opposing flavors works great. I preferred these cookies without the garnish, but my husband really liked the garnish, especially with the additional pretzel pieces. I hope that you enjoy these sweet and salty treats as much as we did!

Leave a Reply

