Apple Cinnamon Power Bowl

vegetarianI’ve always said that I could never be a vegetarian. I love meat too much. However, in recent years, I have become “Veg-Curious” according to this book. That means I am curious about the reasons why people choose to be vegetarian or vegan. Also, I have thought that it would be great to reduce the amount of meat that I eat. When I saw The Smart Girl’s Guide to Going Vegetarian: How to Look Great, Feel Fabulous, and Be a Better You by Rachel Meltzer Warren in the online library, I figured I’d give it a try. I enjoyed that this book was written for people like me who aren’t really sure of how many different versions of vegetarianism there are. It gave insight into the reasons why people make certain decisions on the type of vegetarian they are based on which things are important to them. The book was even for someone like me – someone just curious and interested in reducing the amount of meat! I really enjoyed browsing this book and loved the tact that it showed to people choosing their own way and style of eating. It opened my eyes to different ways of eating and why certain choices are made. It also debunked a few myths about eating vegetarian for me (ie. the idea that tofu and vegetarian are mutually inseparable). The book shares several recipes at the end to try out. This one grabbed my attention because of the onset of fall and cooler weather in mornings and the use of apples, which are in abundance in the fall. This recipe is vegan (uses no animal products).

Apple Cinnamon Power Bowl

1/2 cup almond milk

1/4 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed

1/2 apple, chopped

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Pinch of salt

2 tablespoons chopped walnuts

In a small saucepan, bring the milk to a simmer. Add the quinoa. Return to simmer and then reduce heat to low. Add the chopped apple and cover; cook for about 15 to 20 minutes or until liquid is mostly absorbed. Stir in the brown sugar, cinnamon, and salt and simmer uncovered until mixture thickens. Pour into bowl and top with chopped walnuts.

Makes 1 bowl.

dsc_0014-2

I don’t care for walnuts so the only substitution I made was to sub the walnuts for pecans. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was a warm and comforting breakfast. One thing I would change though is to reduce the cinnamon to 1/4 teaspoon. The cinnamon made it kind of spicy. Depending on what the cereal was like without so much cinnamon, I may add a titch more brown sugar as well. In the book, the author suggests that it could be prepared in large batches and kept in the refrigerator all week to just reheat for breakfast. It sounds like a great idea, especially during the cold months up ahead!

Leave a Reply

