Corn Pudding

just-like-grandma-used-to-makeCorn is so versatile. It can be eaten by itself, it can be ground to use as a flour in tortillas and bread, it can be added to hearty soups, etc. It can even make a sweetener. However, nothing quite compares to eating fresh corn on the cob. Corn also makes an appearance at our Thanksgiving spreads since corn was most likely at the first Thanksgiving feast. I was first introduced to corn pudding a few years ago when I heard a recipe for it on the radio. The first corn pudding I had was very similar to corn bread, just a little more cake like. When I saw this recipe in Just Like Grandma Used to Make, by Lois Wyse, I really wanted to try it to have more of the custardy style corn pudding that I had never tried.

Corn Pudding

4 ears fresh corn or 2 cups canned or frozen corn

2 large eggs

1 cup milk

1 tablespoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

dash cayenne pepper

1 tablespoon butter, softened

2 tablespoons fine fresh breadcrumbs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a 1-quart casserole.

Use a sharp knife to scrape kernels from cob. Mix the corn, eggs, milk, sugar, salt, peppers, butter, and breadcrumbs together in a bowl and beat well. Pour into casserole, and bake until set, about 40 minutes.

dsc_0005

I did not have a 1 quart casserole dish so I baked it in an 8×8 pan. In order to have enough filling for my 8×8 pan, I had to increase the ingredients by half (ie. 3 cups corn, 3 eggs, etc.). I also had to increase the baking time by 10 minutes in order for the pudding to set. I used canned corn, but next time I will definitely use frozen or fresh corn for better taste. If you like the taste of canned corn, you will be just fine, but I prefer the taste of fresh or frozen. I might also add a little more sugar because I like my corn pudding a little sweeter.

My kids were a little skeptical of it and wouldn’t try it. I really liked the custardy texture mixed with the chewiness of the corn and would have loved it had I used fresh or frozen corn (I’m not a fan of canned corn). Even so, my husband really liked this corn pudding and had a couple servings. His grandmother used to make a corn soup using fresh corn scraped off the cob and this corn pudding reminded him of that soup. That makes the title of the book this came from even more telling. I can say that there are quite a few more recipes that I would love to try sometime – homemade hush puppies, dirty rice, pierogi, and rocky road candy. This corn pudding would be excellent with some salsa and sour cream on top or served with your favorite chili. It would also make an excellent addition to your Thanksgiving spread. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

