Why Not Drink Your PB and J?

more-peas-thank-youI love peanut butter. I could be on a deserted island and have a jar of peanut butter, Robin McKinley books, lots of fresh water, and a bag of Cheetos and be happy for a LONG time. But frankly, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches can become boring when eaten every day. And then there is always the problem of packing a PB & J lunch and having the J leak into the bread and all over your sack and the resulting mess in your hands which will end up on your keyboard as that is where lunch is always eaten. No worries, though, there is now a solution-why not drink your PB & J?

More Peas, Thank You is mostly a vegetarian cookbook, which focuses on vegetables and fruits and organic things. I’m most definitely not a vegetarian, but there were some good recipes to be found. I’m not particularly health conscious, if you couldn’t tell by the Cheeto reference, and so I have never bought anything with the words “nondairy” or “organic” and I don’t know how to pronounce agave and I think I knew someone named Stevia in elementary school. So I took my own twist on this smoothie, because really, how can you mess up a smoothie?

It turned out scrumptious, I mean I could drink this for every meal! My children were equally enthusiastic and were happy that for dinner we were having smoothies. I used regular ingredients, meaning full of dairy, non-organic, and unnatural. (Is that what my peanut butter is if it doesn’t say natural on the label?) I did use old-fashioned oats. I also had to one-fourth the ingredients because I have one of those small bullet blenders that only makes one serving; my math whiz of a husband whipped out the amounts I should use. In the first batch I didn’t use any sweetener. It was good, but needed a little something. I added honey to the other batches, first a little bit and with each successive batch I would inadvertently drizzle more honey into the blending jar. This made my smoothie, which I made last of all, absolutely divine! I did not have any peanuts to add to the top of my smoothie, but that would make it even more delicious I’m sure. I was amazed how smooth it was – I couldn’t tell I was drinking oats at all. Is it possible that this wonderful creation is healthy for me? If this is what it takes to turn over a new healthy eating leaf, I’m all over it! Cheers!

PB and J Smoothies

2 2/3 cups nondairy milk or organic milk

2 2/3 cups frozen organic strawberries

1/3 cup unsalted natural peanut butter

1 cup old-fashioned oats

½ teaspoon salt

Agave nectar or stevia to taste

Chopped peanuts, to garnish (optional)

DIRECTIONS

1019161732

Combine milk, strawberries, peanut butter, oats, salt, and sweetener in a high-speed blender. Blend until smooth and thick. Adjust sweetener to taste, pour in glasses and serve, garnishing with chopped peanuts, if desired.

 

Leave a Reply

