Creamy Buffalo Chicken Dip

 

taste-of-homeOnce upon a time I was walking through Sam’s Club when I spied a sample that sounded very different, but yummy. I tried it and it was incredible. I even picked up a copy of the recipe to take home. Then, that poor recipe got lost and for years I couldn’t find it. I kept craving this delicious dip, but it was nowhere to be found. I had given up all hope of ever finding the recipe again and was resolved to the fact that I was going to have to experiment to find the recipe. But, alas, life kept me from being able to spend the time experimenting. So, the recipe was lost, and according to my mind, it was gone forever. Then one day, I was browsing recipe books I brought home from the library and to my joy and amazement – there was the very recipe I had been searching for all these years! And now I get to share it with you! Today’s recipe of Creamy Buffalo Chicken Dip comes from Taste of Home’s Holiday & Celebrations Cookbook 2005.

Creamy Buffalo Chicken Dip

1 package, (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened

1 cup hot pepper sauce

1 cup ranch salad dressing

3 cans (4 1/2 ounces each) chunk white chicken, drained and shredded

1 cup (4 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese

Corn or tortilla chips

In a small mixing bowl, combine the cream cheese, hot pepper sauce and salad dressing. Stir in chicken. Spread into an uncreased 11 in x 7 in x 2 in baking dish. Sprinkle with cheddar cheese. Bake, uncovered, at 350* for 20-22 minutes or until heated through. Serve with chips.

Yield: 5 cups

Editor’s Note: This recipe was tested with Frank’s Cayenne Pepper Sauce.

dsc_0011-2

I didn’t have the Frank’s Red Hot sauce like it was tested with so I just used the generic hot sauce that I had in my fridge. For the ranch dressing, I used the homemade kind that you make with the packet of seasonings because I had leftover dressing from a previous meal. Instead of using canned chicken, I used about a cup and a half of leftover shredded rotisserie chicken that I had in my freezer. And I probably used more like 1 1/2 to 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese and I made sure to use sharp cheese (it adds more flavor). I also decided to add 1/3 cup of bacon pieces to it since the sample that I had at Sam’s Club had bacon pieces in it. (Note: make sure it is real bacon. No bacon bits allowed.) I ended up needing to bake it for a little longer than called for in the recipe because the cheese wasn’t quite melted, but it was only a couple minutes more.

One thing I love about this recipe is that it is so versatile. In the cookbook, it suggests that you could prepare it in a slow cooker so that you can just leave it on warm while your party is going on. You could easily substitute blue cheese dressing for the ranch dressing or simply add blue cheese crumbles to the current recipe. You could also leave out the shredded chicken and serve it as a dip for chicken nuggets (this is how I first tried it). I love adding the bacon in as well! I do have to say that this dip is quite addictive. My husband and I kind of fought over who got to have the last bit of the dip. (Note: I won!) I also found that I liked it even better the next day after the flavors had more time to develop and mesh together. It was delicious served both cold and hot.  If you like hot wings with ranch dressing, you will love this dip. And this is ultimate party food. It would be great for an upcoming holiday party or Super Bowl party. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

