The Girl in the Red Coat

the-girl-in-the-red-coatThe Girl in the Red Coat, Kate Hamer, 2016

When single mom Beth and her eight-year-old daughter Carmel visit a local festival, they lose sight of one another in the thick fog. Dreamy Carmel is lured away by a stranger, and Beth experiences every parent’s worst nightmare in the ensuing months. Switching perspective between mother and daughter, this compelling story insightfully explores the ramifications of a kidnapping. Though it has intense moments, The Girl in the Red Coat is not so much a thriller as it is an exploration of psychology with faint supernatural elements. Fans of Emma Donoghue’s Room or Alice Sebold’s The Lovely Bones are likely to enjoy this 2016 release.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s