Olive Cheese Bread

The Pioneer Woman cooksHave you ever heard of the Pioneer Woman, also known as Ree Drummond? If you haven’t, you seriously need to know her. She has a TV show on FoodNetwork called Pioneer Woman and a blog at thepioneerwoman.com. I love all of her recipes. I don’t think there’s even one that I’ve tried that I haven’t liked. She lives on a ranch with her husband and children and so is not able to make it to the store very often. Because of this, her recipes are almost always with ingredients you probably already have in your house. I love this. And she cooks for large groups of people often, which is even better. I have 5 boys and a husband. Enough said right? This recipe for Olive Cheese Bread comes from one of her cookbooks The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl. This recipe is one that she prepared for a cowgirl dinner party and had everyone calling her for the recipe.
Olive Cheese BreadDSC_0249
Makes 8 servings
One 14.5-ounce can black olives, drained
One 6-ounce jar pimiento-stuffed green olives, drained
2 green onions
¼ pound (1 stick) butter, softened
½ cup mayonnaise (real mayo, no substitutions)
1 pound Monterey Jack cheese, grated
1 loaf crusty French bread
  1. Preheat the oven to 325*F.
  2. Place the black olives on a cutting board.
  3. Chop them roughly until most of the large pieces are broken up.
  4. Place the green olives on the cutting board.
  5. And give ‘em a rough chop.
  6. Slice the green onions, then chop them up roughly.
  7. In a large bowl, combine the butter, mayonnaise, Monterey Jack cheese, chopped olives, and green onions.
  8. Stir until thoroughly combined. At this point, grab the nearest cracker and take a taste. Repeat as needed.
  9. Slice the French bread loaf in half lengthwise. Spread the olive-cheese mixture in an even layer on each half.
  10. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until the cheese mixture is thoroughly melted and beginning to turn light brown and bubbly. Cut into diagonal slices and serve immediately.
Helpful Hints
Here are some make-ahead tips:
  • Prepare the olive/cheese mixture up to two days ahead of time. Store tightly covered in the fridge.
  • Or, spread the olive/cheese mixture on the bread and freeze, tightly wrapped, up to six months. Thaw before baking.
The cheese topping also makes a delicious spread for crackers.
 
Variation
Substitute drained, chopped artichoke hearts and grated Parmesan cheese for the black olives and Monterey Jack cheese. Yum!
DSC_0238
I followed this recipe as written. Or at least I think I did. I’m not really sure if I had the right amounts of olives. On the can of black olives I had, it said 6 ounces dry. But, I think it was 14.5 ounces with the liquid in it. Because my can said 6 ounces dry for the black olives, it made me think that maybe there were supposed to be even amounts of black and green olives. So, I ended up using about 1 ½ cups (drained) of each kind of olive and I baked it for 25 minutes.
 
This bread was divine! It seriously could’ve been the main dish rather than a side! It was very filling too. There was so much topping that I could’ve done at least 1 ½ loaves of French bread, but probably 2 whole loaves would’ve been just fine too. As it was, I had the cheesy goodness flowing over the sides of the bread the minute I cut into it! We stuffed ourselves on this bread and forgot about the rest of our dinner! I hope you enjoy it too!
2 responses to “Olive Cheese Bread

Leave a Reply

