Beef Stir Fry

Ever have one of those days where you don’t even want to think about cooking dinner? On those days, the last thing I want to do is face the stove. That’s what makes freezer meals such a lifesaver for me! Orem Library has quite a few cookbooks that have hundreds of recipes for assembling meals ahead of time.

Dream DinnersDream Dinners: Turn Dinnertime into Family Time by Stephanie Allen and Tina Kuna was pretty helpful to me in my quest to createorem.ent.sirsi.net/…002fSD_ILS:486635/one make-ahead meals. I chose the Beef Stir-fry recipe, assembling the three meals at once.

What drew me to this particular recipe was the baby corn. Somehow I’d never thought about adding baby corn to my stir-fry meals before! I also wanted to pick a recipe that wouldn’t require me to devote half my Saturday to freezer cooking. I found that most recipes in the Dream Dinners cookbook had a minimal assembly time.

In addition to the ingredients, you’ll want to use three gallon-sized freezer bags for the meals.

Beef Stir Fry  

Makes 3 meals of six servings

1 ½ cup soy sauce

3 tsp pepper

¾ cup peanut butter

3 tablespoons minced ginger

1 ½ tsp red pepper flakes

3 T brown sugar

3 pounds beef round bottom

3 carrots, sliced

3 onions, thinly sliced

12 ribs chopped celery

3 cans baby corn, drained

In large bowl, combine soy sauce, ginger, pepper, red pepper flakes, peanut butter, and brown sugar.  Slice beef into strips, add to sauce, and stir to incorporate. Divide beef and sauce among three gallon freezer bags. Divide vegetables among three new gallon freezer bags. Freeze bags.

 

To serve: Thaw meal completely. In skillet, cook marinade and beef until beef is browned on the edges. Add vegetables and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes. Serve over rice or noodles.

IMG_0307

The results

It took me about a half an hour to assemble these meals. We had this dinner over brown rice. It cooked up just as quickly as the recipe noted. And my family really enjoyed it! I was afraid that the soy sauce would be overpowering, but it was just right. The peanut taste was pretty subtle, so if you have allergies or are watching calories, you could easily leave out the peanut butter. And the thing I’m most thrilled about this dinner? That I have two more meals in the freezer to cook up on those crazy days.

IMG_0306

Leave a Reply

