Bread with steel cut oats

content.chilifreshBread with Steel Cut Oats

Bread. I think every culture in the world has some form of bread whether it be tortillas, naan, rolls, buns,
loaves, focaccia, pizza crust, etc. It is said that bread is the staff of life.
In my family, that is so true. We have some form of bread with nearly every
meal we have. My sister didn’t realize how important bread was to our family
until she got married and went to her mother-in-law’s house and was surprised
to find no bread at the dinner table. It surprised her how she hadn’t noticed
how much we have bread until she couldn’t find it! Bread and butter was a
staple at our house. As a kid, that was super important because if you didn’t
like what Mom made for dinner, all you’d eat is bread and butter for supper. If
Mom hadn’t had that bread and butter at every meal, I’m pretty sure my sister
would’ve starved as a child with how picky of an eater she was!

I found today’s recipe in Oats! A
Book of Whimsy by Shirley and Maria Streshinsky
(found in the Orem library nonfiction section, call number 641.6313 St83). When
I picked up the book, I knew that I had several forms of oats at home and I
like oats. As I was flipping through the book, I saw this recipe for bread that
had ginger in it. I have never made bread with ginger in it so I wanted to try
it out.

Bread with Steel Cut Oats

1 package dry yeast

2 cups warm milk

¼ cup butter, melted and cooled

3 tablespoons light brown sugar

1 cup steel cut oats

5 ½ – 6 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon ground ginger

Mix yeast, milk, butter, and brown
sugar in large mixing bowl. Add oats, flour, salt, and ginger and mix until
well blended. Knead dough about 10 minutes, until smooth and elastic. Pat into
ball and put into oiled bowl, cover and let rise until doubled. Punch dough
down, knead again, and shapt into two round loaves. Place on floured baking
sheets and let rise until doubled. With razor or sharp knife, cut circle around
top of each loaf. Bake in middle of preheated 350*F oven, about 40 minutes or
until nicely browned and thumps* done.

Makes 2 loaves.

*In bread making, one must master the
art of thumping, i.e., plunking the bottom of the loaf until it gives the
appropriate hollow “done” sound. Practice makes perfect.

This bread was so good! At first I
worried that this bread would be too thick and dense because the dough seemed
dry compared to other bread that I have made. However, I felt like it was an
amazing texture and very satisfying. The crust was unlike any other crust I’ve
made in homemade bread before. And in reality, the bread didn’t taste much like
ginger at all, but it had a different taste than I’m used to in homemade
breads. It was a delicious different. If you’re not sure where to get steel cut
oats, I purchased mine from Winco foods. I made free-form loaves with the
dough, but I’m sure you could put them in traditional loaf pans and have it
work out just fine too. This was an excellent bread even the next day when
toasted and spread with butter!

Leave a Reply

