Chi-Chi’s Mexican Chicken Salad

content.chilifresh-1.jpg
I love good food. Sometimes I really like the idea of making something at home that I’ve had in the restaurant. That’s why I picked up this book from the library, More of America’s Most Wanted Recipes by Ron Douglas. This book features copycat recipes of some favorite recipes from restaurants around the U.S. I decided to try a recipe for a restaurant that I’ve never been to before and apparently will never have the pleasure of going to because this restaurant went bankrupt about 10 years ago. Sad! At least the legacy of Chi-Chi’s can go on in these copycat recipes!
 
Chi-Chi’s Mexican Chicken Salad

1 cup Chi-Chi’s Salsa or store-bought salsa
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
2 hard-cooked eggs, finely chopped
½ cup sour cream
¼ cup mayonnaise
2 tablespoons minced onion
1 teaspoon grated lime zest
½ teaspoon chili powder
¼ teaspoon ground cumin
Lettuce leaves, for plate liners
 
  1. Drain the salsa well – whether it’s Chi-Chi’s or some other, too muc liquid will make the salad watery.
  1. Place the salsa and all the remaining ingredients except the lettuce leaves in a large bowl and stir well to combine. Line 4 serving plates with lettuce leaves and mound the chicken salad on top of each.
 
Serves 4
 
I chose to make this recipe because it sounded so different from most foods that I’ve made and it paid off. It was delicious! I did not have time to make Chi-Chi’s salsa (the recipe is also included in the book), so I opted to use some homemade canned salsa I had at home. I followed the recipe exactly and I have to say that I thought it needed more salt. Once I added enough salt, this recipe was awesome. At first, we had it on bread as a sandwich, but when I tried it on the lettuce as a lettuce wrap, it was so much better! This recipe makes a lot too. I doubled it thinking that I needed to have enough for 7 people, but this made a lot more than I was expecting. This makes incredibly generous portion sizes if it’s supposed to serve 4! Next time, I think I may try using a different salsa to change up the flavor and perhaps add a little more chili powder to amp up the spice. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!
DSC_0028 (1).jpg
Leave a Reply

